MacOS note-taking app in 10 minutes

Hello! Welcome to the very first issue of Daily Build. Join me as I attempt to build something new from scratch every single day using AI tools.

Today we’re building a note-taking app for MacOS using AI tools

What it does

  • Easily take notes on your Mac using a keyboard shortcut

  • Quickly summon a note with a command like control+option+command+N

  • An ability to save each note

Model

Today I decided to use GPT-4 from OpenAI. In order to use GPT-4, you’ll need a premium account which costs $20/month.

Prompt

Help me code and create a modern design of a minimalist note taking app that pops up with a keyboard shortcut. It should be brought up with a simple keyboard command and allow me to take notes.

Building it

  • I had to design the prompt to make sure it was for MacOS and not the web

  • Went through a couple of design iterations, re-prompting it saying, “more modern design please”

  • I also had to go through a few cycles because notes weren’t saving; each note saves to a list within the file itself called notes.txt

Do it yourself!

👉 Here’s a link to the source code if you want to try it yourself! Here’s the full chat transcript if you want to see how I prompted it.

Join the conversation

or to participate.