Fancy Calculator

It's even dark mode

Fancy Calculator

This was a fun little experiment. I wanted to see how well these models would do with logic, math, and design. Overall I think it did a good job!

Models

  • Claude 2

  • GPT-4

Prompt

"Help me build a beautiful looking calculator... gorgeous using some crazy library with animations. It should be a webapp. Keep it very basic but make the calculator the size of the page. Nice and big. It should be modern and sleek. Please help me get started with the code for all the files and find some sweet libraries we can use."

What the models got right & wrong

I started using Claude and it quickly ran into problems. What I don’t like about this model is that it tends to not give you the full code, so then you’re looking around where to put the code.

ChatGPT easily picked up where Claude failed. It did the logic in one fell swoop. It even nailed some of the design elements in a quick fashion.

Verdict

I started to use ChatGPT for more product work recently… I still think Claude 2 is good at other kinds of creative work like storytelling, naming ideas, and anything involving english and grammar.

Live URL

You can check out the app here!

Source code

Know someone who likes AI?

Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.